A man from the past

One of the most popular New Year’s Day resolution that’s made is the hope ofย  finding that special someone. The thought of being alone is not only scary and lonely but heartbreaking.

Which brings me to this question:- What kind of love interests do some people look for, or should look for? One that is available? Mr. Right? Or a man from the past? The whole point of writing this is because of the last one.

Pride and Prejudice is one of my favorite novels, and Mr. Darcy, one of my favorite characters. I do not believe that Jane Austen made him up out of thin air; somewhere he must have existed, and I guess some are saying if only he exists today.

Mr. Darcy’s ideal, well my kind of ideal. Take away his money and he will still be an interesting character. A gentleman with his flaws of snobbery and pride. But he was reformed. Love did it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Now to the men who portrayed him. Colin Firth did an excellent job, Matthew Macfadyen, not so much. Firth was more believable; he got who the owner of Pemberley was. Macfadyen was flat; although, the version he starred in showed more emotions.

So do the men of today stack up against the men of the past? Should there even be a comparison?

6 responses to “A man from the past

  1. I really did enjoy this one. Not just because Mr. Darcy is the topic but also because we share the same sentiments, believe me we do. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Mr. Darcy is like the Pinta Island Tortoise, which is one of the rarest animals in the world :lol:. Besides, a lady needs all the luck in the world to find some sort of Mr. Darcy in every particular way. I think men nowadays are let’s say, “modernized” and its kinda sad, I think. I much much more like the old English gentlemen and we really can’t blame ourselves not to compare then and now because Mr. Darcy is hard to resist! He’s perfection. ๐Ÿ˜€

    I haven’t got the chance Colin Firth’s performance. I think I’ll watch him. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I agree with you, some men today are too modernized. If only they can mix that with some elements of the past, then yeah, that’ll be a plus. I can hear some saying, “Hey, stop the bashing!” Or asking, “What’s the matter with us?” ๐Ÿ˜†

    Each person has their own taste in what makes a love interest, or what qualities they find interesting, and these are mine, yours, and countless others that I’ve read and listened to.

    I watched Northanger Abbey last year (not a Jane Austen book that I love) and JJ Feild had the leading role as Henry Tinley. I didn’t enjoy this. Maybe I’m too hard when it comes to adaptations.

    JJ Feild reckons there’s no way he could live in the 18th Century where the Jane Austen adaptation is set – because he’s far too badly behaved. The 29-year-old hunk – who starred alongside gorgeous Billie Piper in The Ruby In The Smoke – said: “I’d be thrown out of that society in a minute. I’d be kicked out for lewd behaviour before I’d even got to the bar.” The Sun 2007 (on filming Northanger Abbey)

    http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/showbiz/tv/article18402.ece

    I was a little disappointed, but got over it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. the men of past and the men of present have their own special set of charms. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Thank you for stopping by and commenting. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Yes they do, and we have our own set of preferences. A mixture of modernity and the past doesn’t hurt. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. precisely. both have endearing and not so sweet traits ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

