Only Band-aids

The opening line in A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens goes like this, “It was the best of times, it was the worst of times.”

This is how it is in life, more often than not, one of these times seems to have more control over the other. Sometimes things, events, and people bring about the good and bad in life, which brings me to the reason why I am writing this.

The more I read and listened to news about Africa, the more I am convince that the problem with that continent are its leaders.

There are two types of people, perhaps three if there is a mixture of qualities from trait A and trait B.

Trait A is a Cyndi Lauper song. “But I see your true colors shining through, I see your true colors, and that’s why I love you.” from the song True Colors

Trait B is a Phil Collins song. “I’ve seen your face before my friend, But I don’t know if you know who I am, Well I was there and saw what you did, I saw it with my own two eyes, So you can wipe off that grin, Know where you’ve been, It’s all been a pack of lies.” from the song In The Air Tonight

Africa’s been cut and bleeding for years, and no amount of band-aids are going to solve their wounds. Am I asking for a panacea? Gosh no, but something gatta give.

But some may say, “Sovereignty, Sovereignty.” Is there really an absolute sovereign nation?

15 responses to “Only Band-aids

  1. very true. most of the responsibility lies on the leaders, they should mend their ways and try to uplift their countries.

  2. Not only leaders of their respective countries, but collectively when things aren’t going right in the region itself. If more local voices and actions were raise about Robert Mugabe and the like, would things be different?

  3. No longer colonize, but yet, not “grown up”.

    Africa has accomplished a lot, but I’m more looking at could they have been further along. Rich in diamonds, oil, minerals, gold, but yet, steep in poverty. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  4. this is the greatest tragedy of that continent, they have so much treasure that they can live prosperous life and here they are- suffering in penury.

    In place of supplying them with fishes, may be the developed nations can teach them how to fish.

  5. But first, it must take a willingness to learn.

  6. I think they are so rustic (just like villagers of india) that willingness has to be created by those who know their hapless condition.

    just imagine, if we leave the choice on millions of villagers of India to become willing to learn about their rights- they will NEVER learn.

  7. That’s why a desire for change must be instill in them. Change shouldn’t only be a mind set, your heart must be in it.

  8. Precisely, and in their case that desire too has to be instilled by others, then hope they will nurture and further it.

  9. I think its a big factor on leaders, though members could also be given a second look. But mostly its leaders. If members are constantly denied of their rights because of leaders’ relentless pursuit for greed, then I think Africa would still be suffering. I pray for Africa and all those countries (mine included) whose people are suffering because of our so-called leaders.

  10. Greed is a major factor in citizens suffering at the hands of their leaders. With the case of Africa, it just seems to me like it’s planting flowers in a desert; although, there have been progress, but at an extremely slow pace.

    When I see pictures of people literally starving, their bones you can see and count, it breaks my heart. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • I fully agree- its the greed of handcounted people thats making the others starve.

      have you seen blood diamond? i got my first glimpse of reality from that movie,

  11. That’s just it. Blood Diamond. Hotel Rwanda. Other movies.

    Senseless greed. Senseless killings. Make movies like these, some people watch, comment, and then, move on. It brings awareness, but what next? Those that have the power to really do something, aren’t. If they are, then not enough. Grant it every small accomplishment counts.

    • I have not see the latter one, the one i saw was an eye opener for me. i realized for the first time where the real problem lies.

      i sincerely hope and pray something is done by them for themselves and some help by others who are on the stable ground reg that.

  12. Praying and hoping for that as well. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

