Which “ist” are you?

[Photo shot by Derek Jensen (Tysto)]

Is this glass of water half full, half empty, or both?

Ah, the pessimist, the optimist, and the realist, how does a person become or mold his/her self into  either one of these descriptions?

Are some of us born to see the world as just one big depressive place, a place of beauty no matter what negative things are happening, or a place that has its problems and challenges but they can be overcome?

Or do we thank nurture for it, our parents and the environment that we grew up in?

So, . . . which ist are you?

for the month of february, PLEASE GIVE A DIME. Or ten cents, or an equivalent. For each day, set this amount aside for the whole month, 28 days, and at the end of the month, donate it to a children’s charity. A small big difference. Pass the word along if you please. :)

 

14 responses to “Which “ist” are you?

  1. i think i am a staunch optimist 🙂

  2. may be i too belong to your group. but sometimes i lose the realistic part.

  3. Well, as for me. I am sometimes both. I can see that glass half empty and half full, depending on what’s happening. But really, most of the time I am more of the half full type. 😉

  4. You wouldn’t think it considering my hobby for comedy.
    But i do tend to fall into the pessimist category.
    Though personally i don’t think the pessimistic world is such a bad one.

  5. Most comedians are pessimistic, so I’ve read and heard.

    Nah, the world of pessimism sucks.

  6. I can see a bit of myself in all three of these “ists”. I kind of like the idea of not putting ourselves into categories though. We can set ourselves up for discrimination. It seems like the optimists get “rewarded” for being so while the pessimists get a negative response.

    What does that say?

    I think some people can be genetically predisposed to certain depressive behaviors that would leave them labeled “pessimistic”. I’m not so sure it’s a positive move to label people. It can create more division in the world. I know this is an old psychology question to find out if people are positive or negative thinkers but once we find out what do we do with that information?

    This really got me thinking about this, Apollorose–thank you.

  7. I don’t believe that there are absolute optimists or pessimists. There’ll be times when negative thoughts do enter into an optimistic person’s mind and when positive thoughts for the pessimistic person. But those thoughts will perhaps not persist or define who that person is.

    As for labeling, I don’t see it as such or creating such a division unless people, well some, create them themselves. Who we are, what we do, where we live or born can be said as labels, such things define and make up a part of our whole.

    But how do we separate the importance of such things from the ignorance of some people to make and create divisions?

    And you’re welcome. 🙂

  8. Yes, I agree–I don’t believe in absolutes either. I’m very sensitive about society being so quick to label someone something and then making preconceived ideas about that person. People saddled with labels can end up carrying a heavy burden foisted on them.

    My thinking kind of took a deep turn here. I shouldn’t try so hard to figure out the human race! 🙂

    • I’ve been trying to figure us out also, and yes, it’s mind-boggling how simple can become complicated and complicated can be simple.

      I’m fascinated by the reasoning behind human behaviors.

  9. I’m fascinated too–and sometimes horror stricken! 🙂

Leave a Reply

