Befriending the enemy

Would you befriend your enemy in order to get something that is very important done?

I watched movies based on true stories with caution. Why? Hollywood and movie makers have a way of stretching and adding to the truth. As a movie watcher, if really interested in knowing the facts, then research them. πŸ˜‰

With that said, I was remembering the movie, The Schindler’s List (no has nothing to do with the above statement). In that, Oscar Schindler, played by Liam Neeson, befriends an SS officer named Amon Goth, played by Ralph Fiennes.

In order to help some Jews escape and live, he had to undermine the word and meaning of friends. To do that, he had to use the person that held the destiny of innocent people in his hands.Β  I am happy that he did, and in the end, people lived. πŸ™‚

Which brings me to another question, to accomplish something, to get something that you want, will you do it by any means necessary?

Old With A Smile. For the next 31 days in March, greet an old person with a smile. Stop and chat with them if you want. Pass by and say hello. A few seconds can mean so much to some of them. πŸ™‚

 

10 responses to “Befriending the enemy

  1. Inspire me Journals

    I’m Louise, nice to meet you!
    You have inspired me today, to be nicer to ‘old people’ :-p
    Do you have an email address I could email you a question?

  2. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. πŸ™‚

    I’ve seen too much heartache with old people when I volunteered at an old folk’s home and in my everyday travels. 😦

    Sorry, but declining to give my email address, but if the question isn’t so personal and you still want to ask, then go ahead.

  3. Inspire me Journals

    My question was with regards to the layout of your site, I am new and I am having a little bit of trouble making things ‘work’ :-s I didn’t want to ‘hijack your comments’ with an unrelated question. πŸ™‚

  4. Inspire me Journals

    You have a number of subjects on the right of your page:
    Blog
    what was
    speak
    what’s here
    recent posts
    looking for something

    etc.. well I can’t figure out how to do this myself.. i get confused with ‘menu’ amd ‘pages’ and ‘parent page’ and ‘posts’

    Oh dear, I sound stupid! I’m really sorry to bother you, I am watching some tutorials but I can’t find exactly what I am after! :-s

  5. It’s okay. πŸ™‚ Nope, not stupid if you don’t know, that’s why learning is important and cool.

    Go to your dashboard, scroll down, click on the word appearance and then click widgets. There are a set of widgets that you can choose from. Click on the ones you want by dragging them to the side where it says primary widget area.

  6. Inspire me Journals

    Thank you! I knew it had to be here somewhere. I am usually pretty good with technology, and can figure most things out myself, but this really had me guessing! – thank you so much for your help!
    Louise. πŸ™‚

  7. Not for “an important thing to be done” but yes, i could create an diplomatic relationship for that-

    to befriend my enemy, if i think he is worth it i will do it just to wipe out the enmity.

  8. I guess it’s quid pro quo, basically I do something for you and you in return do something for me.

    It’s not really friendship as the term applies, but a relationship needed to get something done.

Leave a Reply

