Staying alive?

Last week one committed suicide, and found out yesterday that another? Why do some people kill themselves when their hearts are broken?

Love, even though it causes heartache sometimes, should be about living. It should not be about a person taking his/her own life. Gosh this irks me.

9 responses to “Staying alive?

  1. The other side of the coin is the guilt that person leaves behind for the subject of their fascination to endure.
    If that is their intention then they could not do a crueler thing

    • That’s part of it too, did they do it in order for the person left behind to feel that guilt, to never love again? Isn’t that selfish?

      My emotions are all over the place with this. This takes me back to something that happened in 2005 and again last year.

  2. They kill themselves because their entire lives and self-esteem are wrapped up in another human being. Never a good idea.

    Whenever I hear people say–I couldn’t live without you/him/her–I shudder. Yes, you sure can!

    This irks me too! What a waste.

  3. A waste indeed.

    How does one break that cycle when they don’t believe themselves good enough or they feel that that person is the only one for them. People talk about true love, having a soulmate, what is it exactly?

  4. When I’ve had some heavy emotional issues, I have turned to counseling for help to get a different perspective. It really has helped me through the years. People need to work on their self-esteem issues and get familiar with their own self worth apart from other relationships.

    I believe that soulmates can take the form of a close friendship bond–someone you feel an affinity with or strong connection to as soon as you meet them. They don’t necessarily have to be in the form of a romantic love. Also, I think you can have more than one soulmate in your life.

    It’s not realistic to attach yourself to another person and expect that person, who has his own flaws and faults, to fulfill all your expectations. You’re setting yourself up for disappointment. I believe there are many people who don’t even know what “true love” really means.

  5. I love quotes, I guess you can figure that out. Here’s another one.

    “The key is to get to know people and trust them to be who they are. Instead, WE TRUST PEOPLE TO BE WHO WE WANT THEM TO BE, AND WHEN THEY’RE NOT, WE CRY.” Unknown

    I’m agreeing with your perspectives. 🙂

  6. Exactly! That’s a great quote–so true. “Unknown” knows what he/she is talking about. 🙂

  7. some people are too soft for this harsh world.

  8. But they still should make up a part of it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

