Mr. Rochester Take Two

“And what sir,” I asked, while he paused, “did you do when you had settled her here? Where did you go?”

“What did I do Jane? I transferred myself into a will-o-the-wisp. Where did I go? I pursued wanderings as wild as those of the March-spirit. I sought the continent, and went devious through all its lands. My fixed desire was to seek and find a good and intelligent woman whom I could love” from chapter 27 of Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.

How important are second chances, and if they come, should we grab a hold of them? Or should it depend? Tricked into a bad marriage and wanting out, helped to form Mr. Rochester’s character. Careless and reckless, but not to a point of detriment. For him, making up for the years of being connected to a wife that was insane was all he wanted. But how does and should a person make up for regret(s)?

Miss Bronte’s novel, which is my favorite, depicted a man feeling trapped, but then finding a lovely escape in the form of a governess, Jane Eyre, lost it but in the end got it back with no strings attached. He found real love.

Confession. I have never seen any adaptation to this book. I have tried watching a few, but either the actors were underacting, overacting or were just poorly acting. With that said, I liked this clip.

What do you need to be deliver from?

Leave a Reply

