The “I’s” of Dorian Gray

Are you afraid of growing old? Are you someone that thinks only about yourself; whatever you want, you must have no matter the cost?

He was narcissistic, valuing the outside more than what was on the inside. He was willing to please his desires. He held not dearly to friendships. He appeared fake. Dorian Gray was all that and then some, but yet I found him not only lost but in urgent need of finding out what real love was. What was the true meaning of friendship, and yes, that the capital I’s in his life needed to be toned down.

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde with his subtleties and great quotes, not only depicted a young man in need of guidance, but a young man getting the wrong guidance from a source that almost was vain as himself. Which leads me to this question, “Who are you being influence by?”

“I wish I could be love,” cried Dorian Gray, with a deep note of pathos in his voice. “But I seem to have lost the passion, and forgotten the desire. I am too much concentrated on myself. My own personality has become a burden to me.”chapter 18 from The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde

Okay, the acting in this version was atrocious, but I sat through it. It seem to be the closest to the book.

“I said in mine heart, Go to now, I will prove thee with mirth, therefore enjoy pleasure; and, behold, this also is vanity.” Ecclesiastes 2 vs 1 Interesting book.

So I’m back early. 🙂

Leave a Reply

