The Resurrection of Sydney Carton

What does life mean to you? In life a functioning drunkard that had a spot in his heart for a woman who did not return his love. For Sydney Carton, life was just there, that is until he found a purpose; he found what it meant to be just alive.

I remember as a kid watching A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens, and at the end of it, I cried. Last year I read the book, but at the end I did not cry. I watched it again; a different version with Chris Sarandon and still did not cry. Why? I guess the meaning of who and what he was was put into perspective for me. He got what he wanted, did he not? A chance to do something of substance. He gave up his life for another man. You know, just like Jesus gave up his life for us.

This novel with its sadness, anger, pain, greed, revenge, murder, death and hurt was written beautifully with its inclusions of joy, hope, love and new beginnings. It is a book that is emotionally draining.

“It is a far, far better thing that I do than I have ever done; it is a far better rest that I go to, than I have ever known.” from Book 3,  chapter 15, The Footsteps Die Out Forever, A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens.

“It was the best of times; it was the worst of times . . .”

Is there more bad than good in the world or, is the good being overshadowed by the bad?

Leave a Reply

