Because of them?

I remember this DJ signing off when it was time for him to go with these words, “Don’t let the external mess up the internal that would make you miss out on the eternal.”

The guy was a Christian radio personality and, simply put, he was saying do not let anyone or anything screw up your relationship with God that would cause you not to enter heaven.

And then I thought about the song Because of You by Kelly Clarkson. “Because of you, I never stray too far from the sidewalk, Because of you, I learned to play on the safe side so I don’t get hurt, Because of you I find it hard to trust not only me, but everyone around me, because of you I am afraid.”

How many of us let other people prevent us from doing what it is that we should be doing? Perhaps because of what they say and do, some are constantly in a shadow, doubting themselves, belittling themselves and living in a negative sphere of failure.

But then, I thought about her other song, What Doesn’t Kill You. “You think you got the best of me, Think you’ve had the last laugh . . . Think you left me broken down, . . . What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger, stands a little taller . . .”

What it comes down to is you and me not letting anyone or anything batter us to a state of self-defeat. Oh yeah. 🙂

Have a lovely, sunflower day. 🙂

2 responses to “Because of them?

  1. I truly do appreciate people who are able to walk on the sidewalk, always drive the speed limit, and never take any chances and live a happy life. Sometimes, I even envy them. But I am not that person. I quote a song I listen to a lot (credit to Mr. Bob Seger). Sanctuary never comes without some kind of risk.

    Thanks for making me think

    • Sorry for late response. Life does need some risks.

      You’re welcome that I made you think. 🙂 This blog is my way of finding out about life. I too am thinking and have a lot of questions.

Leave a Reply

