Then why pray?

I remember sitting in church a few years ago, heart broken and distressed, because of something that I was going through. And to me, at that time, it seemed the more I prayed about the situation, the worst it became.

And then I asked myself why am I praying? I stopped. Nothing changed except for the fact that I grew more miserable.

And then I discovered during one of my bible studies that I should not rely on my own understanding about anything. Proverbs 3 vs 5

That God’s thoughts and ways are not the same as my own. Isaiah 55 vs 8

That as Jesus prayed before his arrest and crucifixion, “Not my will but thine will be done.”

So why keep on praying to a God who is all powerful and all knowing? To a God that knows our beginnings, middles, and ends. To a God who has granted us humans the freedom to make choices and to live as we please.

So why keep praying to someone for something that we might THINK is right, when that someone KNOWS what is right? Is it belief? Is it faith? Is it trust?

Someone once said that there are three answers to prayers:- Yes, no, and wait awhile. So does it mean that we need patience, or perhaps, understanding? Or does it call for a greater degree of belief, faith, and trust?

‘That it will never come again is what makes life so sweet.” Emily Dickinson 🙂

2 responses to “Then why pray?

  1. One of my favorite verse passages Prov. 3, 5-6. It’s been a life-long learning process but it has strengthened my faith.

  2. Thanks for stopping by and commenting. 🙂

    The Christian walk is a daily learning experience. It’s a mixture of good and bad. I also love those verses.

Leave a Reply

