Incomplete Endings?

Last week I finished the book For Whom The Bell Tolls by Ernest Hemingway. As I got nearer to the final page of the book, my heart raced with anticipation to see how it would end. And after reading it, two words came into my head. Incomplete ending. It felt as if something was missing. But was there?

The more I thought about it the more I realized that the book was complete. It was inferred. The reader had to just put the piece together without the author writing it out for her.

And what about life. What incomplete endings that some are hoping will start new beginnings? Or what endings are inferred that some do not want to see?

“Vulnerability is as much a part of being human as is strength. Our vulnerability prevents our strength from becoming hard, brittle,  and self-serving.” Unknown 🙂

 

2 responses to “Incomplete Endings?

  1. one of my favorite books – but years since i read it. i never thought about incomplete endings – or endings inferred. the later is the one i believe i am experiencing. thank you for writing this post and bringing this to my attention.

    • You’re welcome. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. 🙂

      The first piece that I read by Hemingway was his short story The Short Happy Life of Francis Macomber. I loved it.

Leave a Reply

